Is Taco Bell Halal or Haram In Islam? 

Do you have a favorite fast-food restaurant?

Probably yes, because few people can resist fast food even though we are all aware that it is not the healthiest choice.

Fast food has become widely available in recent decades.

There are more and more international restaurant chains, and they are available in almost all parts of the world.

Also, they’ve become more versatile so you can choose a restaurant depending on your mood for burgers, chicken wings, pizza, tacos, pastries, pancakes, sandwiches, or something else.

The options are endless.

Also, many restaurant chains have begun considering their customers’ diverse needs.

Food awareness has been growing rapidly in recent years.

As a result, more and more people are opting for specific dietary regimes, such as vegetarians, vegans, people who eat organic food, or those who avoid gluten.

Also, some people have specific dietary requirements according to their faith, so Muslims eat halal food, and Jews eat kosher.

Many international restaurant chains have recognized these needs and started offering their customers special menus by their diets.

However, the situation is still very uneven in different parts of the world and among different restaurants.

Therefore, determining whether food suits people with specific dietary needs can be challenging.

You can always obtain the most reliable information in the restaurants, where managers would need to know the answers to questions about food ingredients.

Of course, much information is available on the restaurant’s official social media profiles and websites, but always remember that this information is subject to change, so it’s safest to ask.

One of the popular fast food restaurants, Taco Bell, has more than 7,000 locations worldwide.

These restaurants are oriented towards Mexican cuisine and serve tacos, burritos, nachos, and other salty and sweet dishes.

Taco Bell is extremely popular, so many Muslims are interested in whether it is suitable and safe for their diet.

We investigated whether Taco Bell is halal or haram and whether the situation differs in different parts of the world.

Is Taco Bell Halal or Haram? 

This question has no simple answer, as the situation varies from country to country.

PepsiCo has owned Taco Bell since the end of the 1970s and, together with several other restaurant chains, forms the company Yum!

However, over 90% of the 7,000 outlets belong to independent licensees and franchisees.

These branches worldwide generally adapt to local markets, harmonizing their offer with the local population’s habits, needs, and desires.

Therefore, we cannot talk about a single Taco Bell menu but only about different menus worldwide.

Regarding the halal status of food in Taco Bell restaurants, the situation also varies in various parts of the world.

For example, all food in Taco Bell restaurants is 100% halal in Muslim countries. This applies to the UAE, Saudi Arabia, and all countries in the Middle East.

In these countries, the entire Taco Bell menu is made with halal ingredients, and all meat in the dishes comes from halal sources certified by the national regulatory body.

Also, the menu is 100% halal in India, so in this country, Muslims can enjoy the entire Taco Bell offer without fear.

The situation is somewhat different in Malaysia, where the Taco Bell menu is partially halal.

According to official information, some dishes that Taco Bell offers in this country are halal, while others contain haram ingredients and are therefore prohibited for Muslims.

However, this is still a more favorable situation than in some other countries because everyone who practices halal nutrition has transparent information about the halal status of the food on offer.

It allows them to easily choose what suits their diet from the restaurant’s menu.

Regarding Taco Bell restaurants in Europe, the situation varies from country to country and even from restaurant to restaurant in different countries.

For example, just over half of Taco Bell restaurants in the UK serve halal food. More specifically, 18 of the 29 Taco Bell restaurants in the UK provide exclusively halal meat for their meals.

These restaurants are located all over the UK. A few are in London, and there are also in Glasgow, Bradford, Leicester, Northampton, Sheffield, Leeds, and some other cities.

Other Taco Bell restaurants in the UK do not have halal-certified meat, but people who practice a halal diet can eat vegetarian dishes here.

In the Netherlands, Taco Bell has several restaurants that offer a 100% halal menu. Taco Bell branches in Amsterdam, Rotterdam, and The Hague are fully halal.

At the same time, restaurants in other cities in the Netherlands serve haram food, except for non-meat dishes and crispy chicken from certified halal sources.

In the United States, Taco Bell restaurants do not serve halal food. Therefore, Muslims in this part of the world can order vegetarian dishes from Taco Bell restaurants because all ingredients are halal.

In addition, the American Vegetarian Association has certified the vegetarian menu in American Taco Bell restaurants and confirmed that no ingredients are unsuitable for vegetarians.

However, many people who practice a halal diet do not consider this good enough evidence that this food suits them.

These people are primarily concerned about the possibility of cross-contamination of food with different halal statuses, given that it is prepared using the same equipment and in the same kitchen.

Also, Taco Bell restaurants in Australia are not halal certified. On its official website, the company states that although the meat often comes from halal sources, it cannot claim that the meals are halal because they do not have official certification.

Therefore, Muslims are also advised in this market to choose meat-free foods or avoid eating at Taco Bell restaurants.

Although the food served at Taco Bell restaurants around the world sometimes contains pork, which is haram, i.e., forbidden under Islamic law, the meals sold here generally have other types of meat, such as veal, beef, and chicken.

However, although this meat is not prohibited for Muslims, it must meet specific standards to be halal.

Meat from permitted animals is halal only if the animals were grown and slaughtered by halal principles. Otherwise, this meat is also haram for Muslims.

The meat used must be from a halal source and approved by an official food certification organization in a country.

On the other hand, many meals at Taco Bell restaurants contain no meat at all.

They are made mainly from vegetables, grains, dairy products, and other halal ingredients.

Examples include vegetarian meals like Spicy Potato Soft Taco, Bean Burrito, and Black Bean Chalupa Supreme.

Also, sides and snacks like Cheesy Swirl and Tortilla Chips are meat-free.

Desserts and treats, including the favorites Chocodilla and Churros, are also considered safe. The menu also includes a range of drinks suitable for people with a halal diet.

Some Muslims in Taco Bell restaurants that do not serve 100% halal food choose these dishes because all their ingredients are halal.

On the other hand, others avoid non-halal Taco Bell restaurants altogether because halal food may come into contact with haram ingredients during preparation.

The final choice is yours, and if you are still in doubt, it is best to consult your religious authority for a definitive answer.

What do Halal and Haram Mean in Islam? 

For Muslims, halal and haram define everything Islamic law allows or forbids.

The rules prescribed by Islamic law are exact and detailed and apply to all spheres of life.

These rules come from religious books and regulate the morals of believers.

According to Islamic law, Halal is considered moral, legal, and permissible. On the other hand, haram is illegal, forbidden, and immoral for Muslims.

When Muslims knowingly break this law and do something that is haram, it is considered one of the greatest sins in Islam.

In addition to the fact that halal and haram determine the rules of dress, behavior, relationships with other people, and everyday life, they also refer to the diet of believers.

Some foods are forbidden in Islam, mainly because they are considered impure, unhealthy, or dangerous for humans. That food is haram.

The list of haram foods is not long, but it is exact.

Most food is halal, that is, permitted, but even it is considered haram if it comes into contact with forbidden food.

For Muslims, pork is haram, as well as all pork by-products, because they consider pigs to be impure animals.

Also, all kinds of intoxicating drugs and alcohol, even in small quantities, are haram. It is because alcohol is considered dangerous. After all, it is intoxicated and affects a person’s consciousness.

The list of animals that are haram includes all predators, scavengers, and pests, primarily because it is considered that their meat is not healthy and can be dangerous for humans.

Also, blood is haram for people who follow the principles of halal nutrition.

Therefore, all the blood must be drained from the animals that Muslims eat for the meat to be halal.

It is not the only requirement for the meat of permitted animals to be considered halal. It is also necessary that these animals are raised and slaughtered according to halal principles.

It includes, among other things, the prohibition of the use of hormones and antibiotics, natural feeding of animals, humane living conditions on the farm, and painless slaughter that a Muslim must perform.

Interestingly, the number of non-Muslims practicing a halal diet has been growing worldwide in recent years.

The reasons for this are primarily practical. Some people consider this diet safer and healthier.

For example, halal meat undergoes rigorous controls, so customers are sure that they are buying quality goods.

Also, some people claim that this meat tastes better than regular meat.

The taste of this meat may be better because it does not contain blood, which otherwise negatively affects the taste.

There are even people who see an economic calculation in buying halal meat.

Since this meat does not contain blood, it is lighter than ordinary meat of the same size, which weighs more because of the blood.

Therefore, if you buy halal meat, you actually save money because you only pay for food that you can use.

Choosing halal food is extremely important for Muslims because Islamic law is stringent on this issue.

Muslims can knowingly eat haram food only if they have no choice because their lives are in danger.

It is why Muslims must have insight into their food’s halal status and take this issue very seriously.

In Muslim countries, it is easy to obtain information about the halal status of food on the market. Besides, most of the products in these countries are halal, and restaurants mainly serve only halal food.

However, food choices are often more challenging for Muslims living in countries that are not predominantly Muslim.

Although in some non-Muslim countries, you can find halal restaurants and halal products in stores, this is only the case in some places.

For this reason, people who practice halal nutrition are always advised to read the ingredients on the labels of all products carefully and to always ask about the halal status of the food at restaurants.

If you are suspicious of a food ingredient, it is always best to refrain from eating it and choose something that you are sure is halal and suitable for your diet.

Taco Bell History 

The history of the American fast food restaurant chain Taco Bell began in 1962 in California when it was founded by Glenn Bell, who found inspiration in Mexican food.

Although he was selling hot dogs in the late 1940s, Glenn Bell decided to reorient himself to Mexican cuisine because he daily observed the crowds that formed in front of a nearby Mexican restaurant.

His first Mexican food restaurant was not called Taco Bell, and he changed several names until he came to this one, which is very well known today.

In addition to tacos, nachos, quesadillas, and burritos, Taco Bell also serves a variety of specialties.

Taco Bell quickly became popular, and in the first five years, over a hundred restaurants were opened across the country.

Today, Taco Bell restaurants exist worldwide, in Asia, Europe, North and South America, and Australia.


If you have been wondering whether Taco Bell is halal or haram, we hope that after reading this, it is all clearer to you.

The halal status of food sold at Taco Bell restaurants depends on your location.

In Muslim countries, Taco Bell restaurants serve 100% halal food; all meat comes from verified and certified halal sources.

In Malaysia, Taco Bell is only partially halal. Some dishes on the menu are permissible for Muslims, while others contain non-halal ingredients and are, therefore, haram.

In the European market, the situation differs from country to country.

In the UK, slightly more than half of Taco Bell restaurants are halal.

Nine Taco Bell restaurants serving halal food are located in London, and the rest can be found across the UK.

Several Taco Bell restaurants in the Netherlands have 100% halal food.

They are located in Amsterdam, The Hague, and Rotterdam.

Other Taco Bell restaurants in the country do not serve halal food and offer Muslims a vegetarian menu and one chicken dish from a halal source.

Other European countries generally don’t have official information about the halal status of their food in Taco Bell restaurants.

In the United States, Taco Bell doesn’t serve halal food.

The situation is similar in Australia. Although they point out on their website that their meat sometimes comes from halal sources, they say they cannot claim that their dishes are entirely halal.

If you practice a halal diet, it’s safest to choose those restaurants that serve only halal food and have an official halal certificate.

If such restaurants are not available to you, inquire directly with the restaurant about the halal status of the food you wish to order.

More topics to discover:

Please Like & Share This Article:

Recent Posts