Is Pizza Hut Halal or Haram in Islam? 

Did you know that pizza (if we define it as thin dough with various ingredients) is more than 2200 years old?

In many parts of the world, various variations of pizza have been eaten for centuries, and what is strictly defined as pizza became popular worldwide in the mid-twentieth century.

The popularity of pizza is such that more than 350 slices are eaten every second in the United States!

Most people have their favorite pizza. Although many people like homemade pizza or one from their favorite local pizzeria, the most popular and best-selling pizzas are from the world’s big fast-food chains.

One of the most famous is Pizza Hut, available in more than 155 regions and countries worldwide.

This delicious brand is well-received in many parts of the world, and people from different cultures enjoy it.

However, if you have any dietary restrictions, choosing foods is more of a challenge than for other people.

For example, if you are vegan or eat kosher or halal food, you will want to ensure the food is suitable for your diet before trying it.

If you follow the principles of halal food for religious or other reasons, you have probably wondered whether Pizza Hut is halal or haram.

We have researched this topic and will bring you the answer and explanation.

So, is Pizza Hut Halal or Haram? 

The answer to this question is a bit more complicated than you might expect.

Pizza Hut is haram in most countries, but in some Muslim-majority countries, Pizza Hut is halal.

Pizza Hut is a global restaurant chain, so it adapts its offer to the needs of people in different countries and regions.

It means that the company is guided by the habits, wishes, expectations, and cultural and religious needs of the majority population in each country in which it operates.

Like most global fast food chains, Pizza Hut does not have the same menus in the United States, Western Europe, and the Middle East, for example.

Pizza Hut offers food prepared with halal ingredients and 100% vegetable oil in Muslim-majority countries such as Malaysia, Saudi Arabia, Sri Lanka, Indonesia, Singapore, Turkey, and some other countries.

Often in these countries, you will also see a label on Pizza Hut products stating that the local organization in charge of halal certification has approved these products.

In these countries, you can enjoy Pizza Hut without fear of accidentally eating something that conflicts with your beliefs.

However, in most non-Muslim countries, Pizza Hut is not made with halal ingredients and is therefore considered haram.

Pizza Hut branches in some countries, such as the UK, New Zealand, and Ireland, openly state on their websites that their food is not made with halal ingredients.

It often contains pork or other non-halal meat.

In some countries, Pizza Hut branches do not list any information about the halal status of their food on their websites.

Such is the case, for example, in the USA and Canada.

Therefore, although there is no official information, it is assumed that Pizza Hut is not halal in these countries.

So the answer to whether Pizza Hut is halal or haram, and whether you can eat it if you follow a halal diet, depends on which country you are in.

Ask if you need clarification on whether Pizza Hut is halal in the place where you plan to eat. The staff and management of the restaurant should be able to give you reliable information on this topic.

If the Pizza Hut branch does not serve halal pizza, you can choose a vegetarian pizza and thus avoid pork or other non-halal meat.

Also, you can order side dishes like French fries, cheese sticks, or desserts because there is no meat in them.

However, keep in mind that if a restaurant serves haram food, cross-contamination of food can always occur.

If that worries you, avoiding pizza or looking for a pizzeria serving halal food is best.

What are Halal and Haram in Islam 

Each religion has its rules, and many restrict the foods believers may consume.

In Islam, these rules are expressed by the terms halal and haram, which refer not only to food but also to many other things.

Halal is all that is permitted, and haram is all that is forbidden or illegal according to the rules prescribed by Islamic law.

Therefore, for most Muslims, this is an extremely important topic they approach with the utmost seriousness and strict observance of the rules.

When it comes to food, most foods are halal, but there are some restrictions.

In the first place, alcohol and pork are forbidden for Muslims. Alcohol is haram primarily because it alters the state of consciousness and leads to intoxication, while pork is haram because Muslims consider pigs impure animals.

Therefore, all pork by-products are haram for all those who adhere to the halal diet.

It becomes especially important when it comes to foods that contain gelatin, as it often comes from pig skin or pig bones.

Also, the blood, carnivorous animals, and the meat of all animals not bred and slaughtered according to halal principles are haram.

Any food that is contaminated with some of the haram products is also considered forbidden in Islam.

By all these rules, it is not always easy for those who follow a halal diet to determine whether a food is suitable for them if it does not have an official halal certificate.

Therefore, Muslims are generally recommended to choose halal-certified food and eat at restaurants specializing in halal nutrition.

On the other hand, if you follow a halal diet, you can always ask the restaurant or manufacturer if the food is halal and decide if it is suitable for you.

It is interesting that many non-Muslims also follow the halal diet because this type of diet is considered extremely healthy and safe.

Halal food rules are based on religion but reflect a humane and responsible attitude towards animal husbandry and human nutrition.

Many people claim that halal meat tastes better than non-halal meat because it has no blood. Blood is what makes the meat taste worse.

Also, halal meat has no antibiotics, preservatives, or growth hormones, so it is healthier than haram meat.

It is also believed that animals slaughtered according to halal principles feel less pain, which is another reason why many people choose halal meat for their diet.

However, while non-Muslims who choose a halal diet do so mainly for health reasons, for most Muslims, it is a matter of faith, and therefore it is crucial for them to know whether the food they are eating is halal or haram.

Muslims believe that knowingly consuming haram food is one of the greatest sins.

Therefore, they must strictly adhere to the regulations derived from Islamic law.

There are exceptions to this rule, but they are very rare.

It is believed that Muslims can knowingly consume haram food without it being considered a sin only if they are in danger of life or are in a situation where their health would be seriously endangered if they refuse haram food.

What Makes Pizza Hut Halal or Haram? 

You may wonder what ingredients make some Pizza Hut haram and others halal.

First of all, there is meat.

In places that do not serve halal food, Pizza Hut contains sausages, bacon, ham, or other meat, often pork.

Even if it is not pork, but chicken or beef, for example, it is meat from animals that were not raised and slaughtered according to halal principles.

One of the most popular pizzas from Pizza Hut is Pepperoni Pizza. However, this pizza contains pork and beef and is, therefore, haram and unsuitable for Muslims or others who practice a halal diet.

Some of the more popular Pizza Hut pizzas are Meat Lover’s Pizza, BBQ Lover’s Pizza, Super Supreme Pizza, and BBQ Bacon Cheeseburger Pizza, all of which are haram.

Cheese in Pizza Hut products is allowed for Muslims, but only if made from vegetarian rennet.

Other ingredients are halal, so some consider Pizza Hut suitable for people on a halal diet as long as they avoid those products containing pork or haram meat.

However, some choose to refrain from Pizza Hut anyway due to the possibility of cross-contamination between halal and haram ingredients.

Theoretically, halal food could be contaminated with haram food if prepared in the same kitchen, cut with the same knives, or if food preparation workers do not use protective gloves when touching ingredients with different halal statuses.

The final decision is yours; perhaps consulting with your religious authority can help you decide whether or not Pizza Hut is right for you.

Pizza Hut History 

Pizza Hut is an American restaurant chain with more than 17,500 restaurants worldwide.

This largest pizzeria chain in the world was founded in 1958 in Kansas by brothers Dan and Frank Carney.

In addition to pizza, these restaurants serve breadsticks, pasta, desserts, chicken wings, and other dishes.

Restaurants offer take-out, dine-in, and food delivery services.

Today, these restaurants are owned by Yum! company.

The founders of Pizza Hut envisioned this restaurant initially as a small local pizzeria.

Still, business went so well that they opened two more restaurants the same year and several more the following year.

In the following years, Pizza Hut made its way first in the United States market and then worldwide.

Today, Pizza Hut is a global phenomenon, known and loved, recognizable, among other things, by its simple but impressive logo depicting the red roof that was the trademark of these restaurants in the beginning.


In this article, we tried to answer a question that interests many Muslims (and not only them) worldwide – is Pizza Hut halal or haram in Islam?

Unfortunately, there is no simple answer to this question because the halal status of the food offered by Pizza Hut mainly depends on where in the world you shop and eat.

Since Pizza Hut is available worldwide, the brand tries to offer in different countries menus that suit most people’s tastes, needs, and habits.

That is why Pizza Hut’s offer is not halal in some countries, while in others, it is.

If you’re ordering from a Muslim-majority country, most (or even all) of the food on the Pizza Hut menu will be halal. It may even be indicated on the packaging.

So, if you are in Saudi Arabia, Indonesia, Malaysia, Sri Lanka, Turkey, Singapore, or any other Muslim country, feel free to eat Pizza Hut because it is halal here.

However, suppose you are ordering from a Pizza Hut restaurant in a country with a predominantly non-Muslim population. In that case, halal food will likely be unavailable to you.

You can still ask the restaurant you are ordering from if they have halal food, just to be sure.

Another option is to order a vegetarian meal in non-halal restaurants to ensure you avoid pork or other non-halal meat.

Some believers opt for these options.

However, some have a different opinion and avoid all food served by restaurants that do not have a halal certificate and also serve some haram meals.

The reason for this is the possibility of cross-contamination between halal and haram food.

Pizza Hut food often contains pork or other haram meat, which is unsuitable for people following a halal diet.

If you are concerned about the possibility of using the same utensils to prepare, chop and serve haram and halal food, it is best to refrain from eating at these restaurants.

More topics to discover:

Please Like & Share This Article:

Recent Posts