Is Kfc Halal or Haram in Islam? 

If you have any dietary restrictions, creating a daily menu is not as simple as for people who eat everything.

It is especially challenging to choose industrial products and restaurants for your diet.

If, for example, you avoid lactose, gluten, meat, or foods of animal origin, it is essential to check the composition of each product to know if you can eat it.

The situation is even more complicated when it comes to choosing a restaurant.

Not only do you have to make sure that the meal you choose does not contain ingredients that do not suit you, but you also have to think about the possibility that your food may come into contact with foods you avoid during preparation.

Such challenges are a daily occurrence for people whose religion forbids certain foods.

Many food producers and restaurant owners are aware of this, so they try to adapt their menus to the needs of different people.

However, this is not always the case.

Large international restaurant chains present an even greater challenge, as their menus often differ from country to country.

Therefore, it is sometimes difficult for people who do not eat pork or beef, or follow a halal or kosher diet, to determine whether a restaurant suits them.

If you have been wondering if KFC is halal or haram, read on to find out the actual situation and in which countries this restaurant is suitable for Muslims and in which it is not.

Is Kfc Halal or Haram? 

When we think of large restaurant chains operating worldwide, like Mcdonald’s, Burger King, or KFC, we usually think of recognizable dishes like burgers, fries, or chicken wings.

However, you may be surprised that the signature dishes of these restaurants vary somewhat from market to market.

First, all international restaurant chains purchase raw materials from local producers.

Then, all worldwide restaurant chains adapt their menus somewhat to local markets.

It means they offer food that aligns with most of the population’s tastes, habits, and needs.

And finally, all international restaurant chains must respect the laws of the country where they operate.

Laws related to food safety, supply, and preparation rules vary somewhat in different countries.

Because of all this, you can’t expect to eat the same meal at, say, a KFC restaurant in the United States or an Asian country.

With that in mind, it is understandable that the halal status of food in KFC restaurants varies from country to country.

What’s more, in some countries, the status of halal food in different branches of KFC restaurants differs from outlet to outlet.

Therefore, there are KFC restaurants where the food is 100% halal, but also those where only part of the menu is halal and where all the food is haram.

Although information from official websites and social networks can help you locate restaurants with halal food, it is safest always to check this information with the restaurant.

Restaurants often change their business policies, suppliers, and recipes, so the information you find online may be outdated.

When you ask the restaurant about the halal status of the food before ordering, you will get the most accurate information.

Also, a halal certificate is always the best indicator that food is safe for Muslims.

Halal certificates are issued by official organizations in charge of checking standards.

Their confirmation is the surest sign that a food is by Islamic law and that you can consume it if you practice a halal diet.

Does Kfc Serve Food that Contains Haram Ingredients? 

KFC stands for Kentucky Fried Chicken. As the name of this fast food restaurant chain suggests, the basis of their menu is chicken.

Chicken is considered a halal meat that is permissible for Muslims.

However, to be halal, chicken must meet certain conditions prescribed by Islamic law.

In short, the chicken must come from a halal source. It means the chickens must be raised and slaughtered in a certain way.

First of all, they must be fed with natural food. Then, hormones and antibiotics must not be involved in the cultivation.

Also, Islamic law includes a ritual slaughter that a Muslim must perform in a way considered the least painful for the animal so that all the blood drains from the body.

Only chicken obtained following all these procedures is considered halal, i.e., permissible for Muslims and others who follow a halal diet.

The rest of the food served in KFC restaurants is mainly plant-based, which means it is halal.

Also, Kfc serves desserts and drinks that are also halal.

In addition, KFC restaurants serve carbonated juices, coffee, and other non-alcoholic beverages. Alcohol, which is haram, is not served in KFC restaurants.

Pork, which is haram for Muslims, is generally absent from the menu of KFC restaurants.

However, in some countries, such as China, KFC restaurants have some dishes on the menu, including pork.

These are most meals served for breakfast that contain bacon, ham, or pork sausages. Since pork is strictly forbidden under Islamic law, these dishes are haram.

In some countries, it is difficult to determine whether the chicken comes from a halal source.

If the restaurant does not have a strict policy of sourcing only halal meat, there is a high probability that some of the meat (or even all) will not be halal.

It is also important to clarify that if a restaurant does not use halal meat, there is a high probability that through contact with haram meat, other food will also become haram.

For example, if French fries are fried in the same oil in which non-halal chicken was previously fried, the fries also become haram.

It is because Muslims consider all permissible food that comes into contact with forbidden food also forbidden.

It is a topic that worries many people who follow a halal diet.

The possibility of cross-contamination of food is something that most Muslims consider a serious threat, and therefore choose to avoid restaurants that do not have a strict halal-only policy.

It is also a question to consider when choosing a restaurant if you follow a halal diet.

If the restaurant is not 100% halal but has a partially halal menu, it is essential to determine whether the restaurant follows the principles of separating halal and haram food.

It means the food must not be fried in the same oil, and the same food preparation equipment must not be used.

Also, food preparation workers must wear protective disposable gloves while handling food with different halal statuses in order not to contaminate halal food by contact with other foods.

In Which Countries Is KFC Halal? 

However, there are countries where KFC is entirely halal.

These are mainly countries with a predominantly Muslim population, such as countries in the Middle East.

There is no pork in these KFC branches, and all chicken comes from verified halal sources.

If you practice a halal diet, you can order anything from the menu at these KFC restaurants without fear of eating something that goes against your personal beliefs.

In countries like the UAE, Saudi Arabia, Brunei, Malaysia, Egypt, Qatar, and Morocco, KFC restaurants serve only halal food because these countries are predominantly Muslim.

However, keep in mind that even in these countries, KFC restaurants may not have an official halal certificate.

The safest bet is to ask the restaurant if they have a halal certificate to make sure the food is safe for you.

Also, KFC serves halal food in some countries that are not predominantly Muslim.

For example, KFC is halal in India.

Also, about 90 percent of KFC restaurants in the Philippines serve chicken from verified halal sources.

There are also several 100% Halal Kfc restaurants in Australia. They are located in Bankstown South, Punchbowl, and Fawkner.

In Europe, there are also KFC restaurants that serve halal food, but also those that serve haram food.

According to the official data from the Kfc website in the UK, Kfc restaurants can be found all over the country, and there you can eat food that complies with Islamic law.

About 130 KFC restaurants out of over 900 in the UK offer Halal-certified food.

A list of halal KFC restaurants in the UK is available online, and you can check the halal status of the food in a particular restaurant with the staff or management of the restaurant itself.

The situation is similar in Ireland, where KFC is also partially halal.

In Which Countries Is KFC Not Halal? 

All meat not obtained from verified halal sources is considered haram under Islamic law.

Therefore, many KFC restaurants around the world do not serve halal food.

Also adding to the confusion is the policy of banning halal food advertising that KFC has in the United States.

Namely, although some branches of the KFC chain in the United States serve only halal food, the company does not allow them to advertise this.

The thing is, the company feels that this would give those branches an unfair advantage over other KFC restaurants.

It is why it is challenging to locate halal KFC restaurants in the United States.

As always, the best decision is to inquire directly with the restaurant.

Also, you can generally assume that restaurants in places where many Muslims live serve halal food, but it is definitely recommended to check.

Regarding European countries, the situation varies from region to region.

In some European countries, the ritualistic religious slaughter of animals, such as halal and kosher slaughter, is prohibited by law (or was at some point).

Those countries are Greece, Denmark, Sweden, Norway, Slovenia, the Netherlands, Iceland, Switzerland, Cyprus, Belgium, and Poland.

In some of these countries, religious ritual slaughter of animals is completely prohibited, while in others, they are allowed, but with the observance of certain conditions, such as anesthetizing the animal before slaughter.

These bans were met with strong condemnations from a part of the public and the Muslim and Jewish communities in these countries.

The consequences of these laws are that, among other things, meat in restaurants in these countries can only be halal if imported from another part of the world.

Therefore, most KFC restaurants in these countries are not halal either.

In some countries, besides chicken, the main meat on this restaurant’s menu, KFC also serves pork in some meals.

It is mainly the situation in countries with pork-oriented populations, such as China.

Given that pork, which is haram in Islam, can be found in certain dishes on the menu of KFC restaurants in these countries, those restaurants cannot be considered halal.

Even if you order meals made only from permitted ingredients at these restaurants, there is still the possibility of cross-contamination of food. For many Muslims, this is reason enough to avoid these restaurants altogether.

As we mentioned, the safest option is to always inquire about the halal status of the food at the particular restaurant where you plan to eat.

Unfortunately, laws and circumstances vary from country to country, so you can never say with certainty that a restaurant’s food is halal or haram until you check.

What is Halal, and What is Haram According to Islamic Law? 

The terms halal and haram are of utmost importance to Muslims.

These terms define what is permissible (halal) and what is forbidden (haram) in the Islamic belief system.

The world’s official organizations in halal certification evaluate and approve products and services by awarding them with a halal certificate.

Halal applies to food, medicine, cosmetics, furniture, footwear, clothing, banking, tourism, hospitality, and other products and services.

However, halal certification is primarily applied in the food, cosmetics, and pharmaceutical industries.

For food to be halal, it must fulfill several conditions.

The food must not contain any prohibited or haram ingredients, including pork, alcohol, pork by-products, blood, and the meat of prohibited animals such as dogs, donkeys, vultures, vermin, carnivorous animals, and birds of prey.

Also, meat from permitted animals must meet specific conditions to be halal.

It is essential that the animals are raised humanely and using healthy and natural food and that they are slaughtered in the most painless way possible by an adult Muslim.

Halal food must also not contain emulsifiers and additives derived from haram ingredients.

Muslims also consider that any halal food that comes into contact with haram food is contaminated and thus becomes prohibited under Islamic law.

Therefore, restaurants must have separate kitchen areas and use different utensils to prepare halal and haram food to obtain halal certification.

Also, production facilities for producing halal products in factories must be wholly separated from other facilities to receive a halal certificate.

According to Islamic law, knowingly consuming haram food is considered one of the most significant and serious sins. Therefore, Muslims are only allowed to eat haram food if they have absolutely no other choice.


Many Muslims wonder if KFC is halal or haram in Islam.

This question is also of interest to many non-Muslims who practice halal nutrition for non-religious reasons, i.e., because they consider it safer, better, or more beneficial for the body.

After reading this, we hope the answer to this question is more straightforward.

The KFC menu is based on chicken, which is halal, but only if it comes from a halal source.

In some countries, KFC restaurants are supplied from verified halal sources and serve only halal food. Therefore, it is primarily valid for Muslim countries.

In the rest of the world, the situation varies from country to country.

In some countries, you can find both halal and haram KFC restaurants, while in some countries, all KFC restaurants are haram because they serve meat that does not comply with the requirements of the halal diet.

In the United States, KFC restaurants are not allowed to advertise as 100% halal, not to have an advantage over the competition.

However, some of these restaurants only serve halal food; they will confirm this if you ask them.

Wherever you are in the world, if you want to be absolutely sure that the food from your KFC branch is halal, be sure to ask before you order.

More topics to discover:

Please Like & Share This Article:

Recent Posts