Is Butter Halal or Haram In Islam? 

Butter is one of the favorite dairy products and is eaten worldwide.

Many people cannot imagine breakfast without butter; it is also a key ingredient in many sweet and savory dishes.

Various recipes provide for using butter for cooking or baking to give dishes a specific texture, taste, and smell.

Butter is also considered healthy when eaten in moderation and is recommended for everyone except people with certain health conditions.

Although you can make your own butter, many types of salted, unsalted, and even non-dairy butter are available on the market.

Except for non-dairy butter made from plant-based ingredients, other types of butter have similar elements, but minor differences in recipes exist.

It is why Muslims worldwide wonder whether butter is halal or haram.

Islamic law prescribes which food is suitable for Muslims and which is not.

The rules are expressed by the terms halal and haram, where halal means what is legal or permitted, while haram refers to what is forbidden, i.e., not according to Islamic law.

Certain foods such as alcohol, pork, or the meat of forbidden animals are known to be haram for Muslims.

However, the list of haram foods does not end here, as all the ingredients of a particular food must be halal to be permitted.

Therefore, it is necessary to determine the list of ingredients and the production process for many foods to know whether they are halal or haram.

It is important to emphasize that this is not something that only concerns Muslims.

Around the world, many non-Muslims follow the principles of a halal diet for various reasons, mainly because they consider halal food tastier and healthier.

The rules of halal nutrition prohibit anything that can negatively affect the human body, so consumers feel safer when they choose halal-certified food.

With the growing awareness of the needs of Muslims and others who practice halal nutrition, the number of halal products worldwide has also increased.

Is Butter Halal or Haram? 

As a dairy product derived from cow’s milk, butter is generally considered halal, but exceptions exist.

Although the essential ingredients of butter are not haram, it happens that some haram ingredients are added to the butter during production.

In those cases, butter is also considered haram, and Muslims must avoid it.

Several ingredients can affect butter’s halal status, namely gelatin, lard, whey butter, and alcohol.

Depending on the origin, some of these ingredients are always haram, and some may be either halal or haram.

Therefore, butter containing any haram ingredients is also haram, and Muslims are forbidden to eat it.

To avoid these types of butter, it’s best only to buy certified halal brands.

If you cannot find halal-certified butter at the grocery store, it is recommended that you read the ingredient list to check for haram ingredients.

However, keep in mind that sometimes haram ingredients are invisible on the label, so it’s better to check with the manufacturer or avoid these products altogether.

Another good solution is only to eat butter that you have made yourself to ensure the product fully complies with the rules provided by your faith.

How Does Gelatin Change the Halal Status of Butter? 

We pointed out that butter is halal mainly because its primary ingredients, milk, water, and salt, are permitted under Islamic law.

However, commercial butter often contains other ingredients that are added to speed up the production process or improve the end product’s taste and texture.

In making butter, milk is first turned into cream.

At this step in manufacturing, manufacturers sometimes add ingredients to help stabilize and thicken the cream.

One ingredient that is sometimes used is gelatin.

According to Islamic law, gelatin can be halal or haram, depending on the way it was produced, that is, on the origin.

There is gelatin of vegetable origin, and it is halal.

However, gelatin of animal origin is much more commonly used.

Gelatin is often a pork-by product, and this type of gelatin is always haram because it is explicitly prohibited by Islamic law.

Pork gelatin is obtained from the skin and bones of pigs.

Pigs are unclean animals for Muslims, and they never eat their meat or anything from them.

Therefore, butter containing pork gelatin is always haram.

Gelatin, however, can also be of bovine origin.

In that case, its halal status depends entirely on whether the animal was raised and slaughtered according to halal customs.

For beef gelatin to be halal, the animal must be fed only natural food and slaughtered by a praying Muslim.

Bearing in mind that the origin of gelatin is not always indicated on the label of a commercial product, Muslims are advised to exercise caution and ask for additional information from the manufacturer if they are in doubt about the halal status of a particular butter.

Some Islamic scholars recommend that Muslims avoid any butter containing gelatin, just in case.

How Does Lard Change the Halal Status of Butter? 

Another ingredient that can make butter haram is lard.

Manufacturers sometimes add lard to butter to improve the flavor or texture of the butter.

Fortunately for those who avoid pork by-products, this is uncommon and is only standard in some cultures.

Fat is what gives butter its specific taste, aroma, and texture.

However, the demand for low-fat products, including low-butter, has increased over time.

Such butter does not have the same good texture and taste as ordinary butter, so manufacturers manage to compensate for this with other ingredients.

If the butter contains lard, it is haram because lard is obtained by melting the fatty deposits of the pig.

As is well known, Islamic law prohibits pork and all pork products.

How Does Whey Change the Halal Status of Butter? 

The cream from which the butter is made sometimes contains whey, which can make the butter no longer halal.

Whey is a by-product of the cheese-making process.

Since rennet is sometimes used for cheese production, it will also be contained in the whey.

Although there is plant-based rennet, it is much more often obtained from animals.

Rennet is obtained from the stomachs of mammals, such as piglets and calves.

Rennet of pig origin is always haram.

On the other hand, beef rennet can be halal or haram, depending on factors such as how the animal is raised, fed, and slaughtered.

For rennet obtained from a calf to be halal, the calf must be fed only natural food because otherwise, Muslims consider the contents of its stomach impure.

If hormones or antibiotics were included in the calf’s diet, if the calf was raised in inhumane conditions, or if it was not slaughtered by the regulations of the halal procedure, the rennet is considered haram.

Therefore, whey obtained from haram sources is also haram and makes the product in which it is included impure.

Therefore, butter containing whey is often haram.

If you see whey among the ingredients on the butter label, avoiding this product is best.

Another option is to call the manufacturer and ask about the origin of the whey.

If the producer can prove that the whey is halal, the butter is considered halal, safe, and permissible for Muslim consumption.

How Does Alcohol Change the Halal Status of Butter? 

It may seem strange at first that butter contains alcohol.

And indeed, alcohol is not something we expect to see among the ingredients listed on a butter label.

So what’s the matter?

First, you need to understand the difference between salted and unsalted butter.

While salted butter usually owes its specific flavor to natural ingredients, unsalted butter has added components that affect texture and flavor.

Unsalted butter needs natural flavoring, which is obtained from the starter distillate.

This ingredient can be problematic when it comes to the halal status of butter.

Starter distillate sometimes contains alcohol, most often Diacetyl.

Although this amount of alcohol is nowhere near enough to cause intoxication, nor can it be smelled and tasted in butter, some Islamic schools of thought forbid this kind of alcohol as well.

It should be noted that this is something on which there is no consensus among the various Islamic schools of thought or among Islamic scholars.

While some believe that alcohol used in this way is halal because it does not intoxicate, others have a stricter view and believe that everything related to the idea of alcohol consumption is directly opposed to Islamic culture and tradition.

With that in mind, it is best to follow the position of the Islamic school of thought that you follow on other issues as well.

If you have concerns that need to be resolved, your religious leader can help you.

In the meantime, it’s best to avoid butter that contains alcohol anyway.

You are generally safe with salted butter, but you should pay particular attention to unsalted butter.

How to Choose Halal Butter? 

The safest way to choose halal butter is to make it yourself.

Making butter is not difficult and does not require a lot of time, and the significant advantage is that you can completely control the ingredients used.

If you still want to avoid making butter, choose halal-certified commercial butter.

Some halal-certified butter brands include Richfood, Rinn-Dixie Organic, Pathmark, James Farms, America’s Choice, Wegmans, Nature’s Basket, Hannaford, Land O’Lakes, Central Market Organic, and Kroger.

Remember that recipes and production processes are subject to change, so always check whether a product is still halal before you buy and eat it.

It is safer to choose salted than unsalted commercial butter as it is less likely to contain haram ingredients.

Also, a good way to choose halal butter is to look for vegan butter made with non-dairy ingredients.

Although this butter is different from real butter, the taste is close enough.

If you buy non-dairy vegan butter at the grocery store, you don’t have to worry about ingredients like gelatin, whey derived from animal rennet, and lard because this butter doesn’t have them.

The only ingredient you need to pay attention to is alcohol, often included in the starter distillate.

Non-dairy butter can come from plants such as olive, palm, and coconut.

It is a popular substitute for regular butter that can be used in almost any recipe.


Butter is typical in many savory and sweet dishes, sauces, pastries, or spreads.

Many people like to eat butter for breakfast, combined with honey, jam, or some salty foods.

It is why many Muslims often wonder whether butter is halal or haram.

No haram foods are in the essential butter ingredients, so you can easily make halal butter at home.

However, when it comes to commercial butter, they can sometimes contain haram ingredients.

The most considerable confusion is that the haram ingredients are sometimes not evident in the list of ingredients that the butter contains.

Of the haram ingredients that can be included in the production of commercial butter, the most common are gelatin, lard, whey, and alcohol.

These ingredients are generally added to butter to achieve a specific texture and flavor and speed up the production process.

Some of these ingredients are always haram, like lard.

Others may be halal or haram, depending on the origin.

Pork gelatin is always haram, while beef gelatin is haram if not from a halal source.

Also, whey is haram if it contains animal enzymes from non-halal sources.

When it comes to alcohol in butter, things are even more complicated.

Namely, some Islamic scholars believe that this alcohol is not haram because it is not in sufficient quantity to affect the smell and taste nor to cause intoxication and a change in the state of consciousness.

Other Islamic scholars believe that any alcohol in butter is reason enough to consider butter haram because alcohol is strictly prohibited for Muslims.

To make sure the butter you buy is halal, choose a product with a halal label, buy vegan butter, or ask the manufacturer for information about the halal status of their product.

More topics to discover:

Please Like & Share This Article:

Recent Posts