Is American Cheese Halal or Haram In Islam? 

Many people love American cheese and cannot imagine some dishes without it.

American cheese is an indispensable ingredient in macaroni and cheese, sandwiches, cheeseburgers, and many other meals.

People enjoy its mild taste and smooth texture, and you can find many different versions of this cheese on the market.

American cheese is usually made from a blend of other cheeses like Colby, cheddar, and others.

Making American cheese includes other ingredients that may vary from manufacturer to manufacturer. Still, usually, milkfat, milk, whey, cellulose gum, annatto, potassium citrate, natamycin, and artificial flavors are used.

Many Muslims wonder if American cheese is halal or haram.

The answer to this question is more complex, and there has been a debate on this topic for a long time.

The halal status of American cheese indeed depends on the ingredients used in its production.

Therefore, it is crucial that if you practice a halal diet, you always check the ingredients printed on the package. Only then you will be able to make an informed decision about whether a particular food aligns with your beliefs.

It should also be noted that not all Islamic scholars agree on the halal status of some ingredients that may be included in the production of American cheese.

Therefore, it is always best to check with your religious authority whether they consider a particular product halal or not and follow their stance.

Keep reading to learn what ingredients may be considered problematic in American cheese, how to choose halal cheese, and where to look for alternatives if you can’t find halal American cheese.

So, Is American Cheese Halal or Haram? 

There are entirely halal brands of American cheese.

They do not contain haram ingredients; therefore, Muslims and anyone who practices a halal diet can eat them without fear of violating the rules of their diet and religion.

There are several ways to produce dairy products, including American cheese.

One of those ways involves the use of microbial enzymes.

The product is permissible if American cheese uses these enzymes and does not contain haram ingredients.

On the other hand, instead of these microbial enzymes, other ingredients can be used, such as rennet.

It is where things get more complicated, as rennet can be of different origins.

Rennet is taken from the stomach of young animals that are mammals. It usually comes from calves’ stomachs, but it can also be taken from the stomachs of other animals, including pigs.

American cheese made with pork stomach rennet is haram, as pork and all pork by-products are haram for Muslims.

If the rennet comes from the stomach of a permitted animal, such as a calf, it is essential to consider other aspects of the origin of this ingredient.

Namely, for such a rennet to be halal, it must come from an animal reared and slaughtered by halal standards.

If the rennet comes from an animal that died of natural causes, it cannot be considered halal, as such animals are forbidden for Muslims to eat.

Also, if the rennet is taken from an animal’s stomach, not raised and slaughtered according to halal principles, it is considered haram. Therefore, American cheese produced with the help of this rennet is haram.

Another significant factor in determining the halal status of American cheese is the production method.

Sometimes in the production of cheese, some ingredients are processed using alcohol.

Alcohol is haram in Islam, and Muslims are not allowed to drink or eat products containing it.

Therefore, if any ingredient in American cheese has been processed using alcohol or some other illegal chemical, the cheese is also considered forbidden, i.e., haram.

It is important to note that all this information regarding ingredients and production methods is often not displayed on the package of American cheese.

The most reliable way to choose an American cheese that meets the criteria of your faith is to look for cheese with a halal certification mark on it.

Such cheese is approved by the organization in charge of product control and evaluation and has a certificate that it complies with halal standards.

If you still can’t find halal-certified American cheese, the safest way is to contact the manufacturer and ask about the ingredients and production method.

If you are still unsure after the answers you receive from the manufacturer, don’t hesitate to contact a local Islamic scholar for guidance and advice. It is especially important because there are minor discrepancies among different Islamic authorities, so the position of your religious authority can help you decide.

What is American Cheese, and What Ingredients Does it Contain? 

American cheese is made from several ingredients that can vary from brand to brand.

This cheese has been around for over a hundred years and, over time, has become a favorite both in the United States and around the world.

American cheese is an ingredient in many popular homemade dishes and dishes served in restaurants or fast food restaurants.

American cheese is made from pasteurized cheeses, and in addition to dairy ingredients, it often contains non-dairy ingredients such as emulsifiers and food coloring.

Whether American cheese will be halal or haram also depends on the halal status of these ingredients.

Enzymes added to American cheese help ripen the cheese, and their origin may also determine the halal status of American cheese.

Enzymes can be of plant or animal origin.

Plant enzymes are halal, but animal enzymes can be halal or haram.

If animal enzymes come from a pig, they are haram. They can be halal or haram if they come from a permitted animal. It depends on whether the animal was raised and slaughtered according to halal principles.

Another questionable ingredient sometimes found in American cheese is casein. It is a milk protein that gives American cheese its distinctive color and texture.

Casein can also be halal or haram, depending on the origin of the enzyme used to produce it.

Many Muslims also wonder if there is gelatin in American cheese, as it is one of the ingredients that are sometimes haram.

Namely, gelatin can also be of different origins, vegetable or animal. If the gelatin is of vegetable origin, it is halal.

But if the gelatin is of animal origin, it is generally haram because it is usually obtained from pig skin and pig bones.

Most American cheeses do not contain gelatin, but some brands sometimes use it.

It is another reason always to scan the label and read the ingredients list before purchasing any product.

It is the only way to be sure you are buying food that is entirely in line with your beliefs and the rules of your religion.

How Do You Choose the Right American Cheese? 

There are many different kinds of American cheese on the market.

If you practice a halal diet, you are probably already used to checking the product ingredient list and looking for halal-certified products.

The Halal certificate is also the surest confirmation that a product is safe for Muslims.

You can find kinds of American cheese with a halal certificate on the market, and some of them are Agropur Kraft Cheese Halal, Arla, Sargento Halal Cheese, and Muenster Halal.

If you can’t find a product that is halal certified, check the ingredient list for questionable ingredients like animal enzymes.

If this information is missing from the package, feel free to contact the manufacturer and ask for this information.

Also, suppose you are unsure whether an ingredient is halal or haram. In that case, it is safest to consult an Islamic scholar or local religious leader who will clarify all the details.

Another possibility is to choose vegan American cheeses because they certainly do not contain ingredients of animal origin.

Cheese is generally considered a halal product and is included in the diet of Muslims worldwide.

However, industrial production often involves using various ingredients that are not obvious at first glance.

Various emulsifiers and additives can be of animal origin or obtained from using substances considered forbidden by Muslims, such as alcohol.

Therefore, the most straightforward answer to whether American cheese is halal is that it is halal as long as it contains no haram ingredients, such as alcohol, pork by-products, or animal enzymes derived from illegal animals or contrary to Islamic law.

The Difference Between Halal and Haram Food 

For Muslims, halal and haram determine whether something is permitted or forbidden.

The concept of halal and haram is much broader than food and applies to all aspects of everyday life.

Most foods are halal, but there is a precise list of haram foods.

Forbidden or haram food includes alcohol, other intoxicating substances, pork, blood, and other unlawful animals.

Also, haram is all meat from permitted animals that does not meet halal standards.

It usually means that the animals were raised in inhumane conditions, inadequately fed, given antibiotics or hormones, or slaughtered by a non-Muslim.

Muslims consider all halal food that has come into contact with forbidden food haram food.

It is why cross-contamination of food is something that Muslims consider a serious issue.

Production facilities where halal food is produced must be wholly separated from production facilities for the production of haram food to meet halal standards.

There is a minor disagreement among Islamic authorities about the halal status of some foods.

Generally speaking, there are two currents, one more liberal and the other more strict.

Some ingredients considered halal by Islamic scholars belonging to a more liberal stream are haram for Islamic scholars from another group.

Consciously committing haram, which includes consuming haram food, is a major sin for Muslims.

The only situation in which Islamic believers are allowed to eat haram food is when they have no other choice.


Muslims worldwide eat according to the principles of halal nutrition, which has become increasingly popular among non-Muslims in recent years.

Halal is a word of Arabic origin, and in Islamic law, it means everything legal and permissible.

Conversely, forbidden and illegal things fall under the term haram.

If you have doubts about whether American cheese is halal or haram, we believe the situation is clearer after reading.

American cheese is permissible under Islamic law as long as it contains no haram ingredients.

If the American cheese is not halal-certified, look for the ingredients list or contact the manufacturer for full details on the ingredients and production process.

Ingredients that are not halal (or could be halal or haram, depending on the origin) and are sometimes included in the production of American cheese are alcohol, pork by-products, gelatin, casein, and rennet.

Since different Islamic schools of thought differ on the halal status of some ingredients, it is always advisable to consult your religious authority if you are in doubt and have further questions.

More topics to discover:

Please Like & Share This Article:

Recent Posts